The Commonwealth Short Story Prize, now in its ninth year, is one of the world’s most dynamic literary honours. Spanning fifty-four countries, it is awarded for the best short fiction from the Commonwealth regions of Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean and the Pacific.

This collection is titled after the overall 2020 winner by India’s Kritika Pandey – a sharp, unsparing tale of two young people whose paths cross briefly before they are separated by hatred and prejudice.

The other winning stories – by Innocent Chizaram Ilo (Nigeria), Reyah Martin (Scotland), Brian S. Heap (Jamaica) and Andrea E. Macleod (Australia) – are haunting and poignant tales of different realities, both starkly familiar and at a slight, dreamlike remove.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is a prestigious annual award for the best work of unpublished short fiction from within the Commonwealth. It is managed by Commonwealth Writers, an initiative of the Commonwealth Foundation set up to inspire, develop and connect writers and storytellers across the five global regions.



ISBN 9781911475453 – Paperback – 110 mm x 160 mm – 102 pages
 – £4.99